OGUNDARE Olatunde Joseph

THE PHOENIX

Ogundare Olatunde Joseph was born on 26th of June to a family of six. I was born and bred in Ibadan Oyo state, Oluyole Local Government Area. I had my nursery and primary education partly in Abeokuta Ogun State and partly here in Ibadan Oyo State. Finished my primary school education in Blessed Assurance Model School after which I moved to Oladipo Alayande School of Science and finished from there in 2008. I gained admission into the University of Ibadan in 2009 to study Agriculture.  I’m presently a 300 level student of Agricultural Economics.

My career as a debater and public speaker dates as far back as when I was in Junior Secondary School 1, precisely in the year 2005. I went into full time participation in public speaking in the University of Ibadan where I first participated in the University of Ibadan Preliminary Science Students (UNIPSS) competition in 2010. Subsequently I have participated in Faculty Debates and Public speaking contest in the University of Ibadan.

My philosophy of life is that life would never give up to us what we deserve but what we decide. Many a times, life plays a back and forth game with our very existence and purpose in life trying to thwart our aspirations and goals and make big rubbish of our survival. Times when we feel dejected and frustrated, when we think the world is against us. It is at this very time that I believe motivation fails and INSPIRATION rules. Inspiration is what separates a great man from a failed one.

The good thing about life is that a lot has been prepared, pre-packaged, pre-planned and pre-destined for you, but it’s going to take the fight of your inner man (you mind) to get it. Being able to do a thing or not in life is a thing of the mind.

SUPERBOWL V has been a great eye opener for me and it has made me believe in the power of possibilities.

Aside being public speaker, I’m also writer, poet and a dancer. And I must confess that public speaking is a very difficult task but not an impossible one. Anybody can do it, once the mind is set at it and the eyes is focused on the horizon.

My favourite quote is: “In life, you cannot look back, you cannot stop, you cannot slowdown, you cannot give up and you must never say never. To make it big in life, defeat is NEVER an option”.

Adebimpe Owoseni

OWOSENI Adebimpe

“My Today is a Divine Preparation for Tomorrow.”

My greetings to everyone who is passionate about humanity and peace. I am Adebimpe Victoria Owoseni, a native of Ibadan, Oyo State. I was born more than twenty years ago into the family of Mr and Mrs Aderemi Owoseni; I am the last born of four children in a family of six. I have been living with disability right from birth, which resulted in my inability to walk (wheel chair-bound).

My formal education started very late due to my condition—it was very difficult to get a school that is willing to admit a special child as a pupil. But finally, God opened the door of opportunity for me in 2004 when I commenced my primary education at Cheshire Primary School for the handicapped where I spent one year as a primary six pupil. Thereafter, I proceeded to Cheshire Junior Secondary School (2005-20060. Afterwards, I was at Cheshire Senior Secondary School, Ibadan and graduated in 2011. In the same year, I gained admission into the University of Ibadan where I am currently studying German Language in the Department of European Studies, Faculty of Arts.

My expectations for Superbowl V are inexpressible because I am full of mixed feelings. This is my first year in the University, and this will be my first and biggest public speaking performance. I have come to realise that great things are not achieved by the mighty, but by great minds. I believe that Superbowl will do justice to bring out this fact in the youths who are participating in this contest. I am expecting the best speeches to be delivered, the best views expressed, the most important issues to be addressed and the most effective speaker to be rewarded.

I know that the future of this country lies in the strong and agile hands of the youths, and the best way to begin the journey of transformation is to speak out and bear out our minds in the most honest forms.

Damilola Okoyomoh

OKOYOMOH Damilola

On the 24th of January 1995, I Omeghie Oluwadamilola was born into the Osi Okoyomoh family as the third and final child. As a child I was an avid reader and also quite talkative, so I discovered quite early in life the importance of being able to speak well. My very first public speaking experience was at a primary school debate, i became an even more enthusiastic speaker in secondary school where I slowly began to hone my public speaking skills.

My desire to try my hand at different things earned me a spot at the 2010 “Maggi Cook for Mama” regional and national competitions where I came first and third respectively. But I have never been able to stray too far from the public speaking road so communications was a natural choice for me. Being a part of Superbowl V is for me a great opportunity to learn and also to speak out on a topic that really touches a special place in my heart.

I believe that the security situation in Nigeria. Is something every Nigerian should be concerned about and I hope that myself and my fellow speakers would help us all wake up to our collective responsibilities as Nigerians. My philosophy of life can be summed up in d words of Cobhams Asuquo, “if u see yourself as deserving the best, then the best will come to you”.

DAMILOLA ADEREMI

ADEREMI Damilola

John F. Kennedy believes that the only reason you make a speech is to change the world. Superbowl V provides me with another chance to inspire others to act thoughtfully as we critically examine the state of security in our nation.

Damilola Aderemi is my name. I am blessed with wonderful parents, great siblings and inspiring mentors and friends. Ibadan is my native town though I was born and have lived my entire life in the Centre of Excellence. K. Kotun Memorial School, Bode Thomas, Lagos and Kingsway College, Ilogbo, Lagos are my alma-maters. Sociology is my discipline.

I never made my first speech until I was in Senior Secondary School (SSS) 3. As horrible as that outing was, I still blew the next chance I had to regain confidence as I suffered through a 5-minute presentation at a church service. I vowed never to speak in public again.

Deciding never to speak in public didn’t affect my decision to watch others speak. It wasn’t long until I began to realise that the cave we often fear holds the treasure we seek. Although it was quite a while before I started speaking again, I soon began to jump at opportunities the same way we jump at conclusions. It’s the best way to exercise our minds, I’ve found out.

Hence, my public speaking journey.I’ve failed atoratory contests, 8th Queen Elizabeth II Hall Inter-hall Oratory Competition 2010, Superbowl IV semi-final ouster but progress and not perfection has been the goal. I’ve also had a fair share of good outings; winner, CBN Prelim Science Students Oratory Contest (2010), 2nd runner-up ANUNSA Oratory Contest (2011), winner, Social Science Inter-faculty Oratory Contest (2012). More importantly, I’ve had quite a number of platforms to inspire others on non-competitive grounds: charging people to vote in the 2011 general elections alongside greats like Dr Tony Marinho, Chief Lam Adesina, and Mr RotimiAkeredolu; imploring youths to lead better lives at seminars, amongst others.

Now, I teach public speaking at The Speech Academy, Ibadan telling others that we are all public speakers- it’s only the level of publicity that differs and if we can become more aware of the knowledge we think we don’t have about speaking; we will change the world. Co-ordinating Kuti Hall Literary and Debating Society has also been a wonderful opportunity.

David D. peters’ 

PETER S. David

In the epoch of the 80s, 5th April to be precise, last of three encyclopedic boys was born. His name David D. Peters…

Proud to hail from Lagos, the youngster grew and took some stops to acquire required knowledge; his primary education observed back in Rita Titi Lakanu memorial school. Junior secondary tutelage verified at Government secondary school Bwari Abuja. Also, bethel comprehensive high school endorsed his senior secondary school certificate.

Fully-fledged today, David is apparently a Student of the department of food technology in the University of Ibadan. In his early juncture in the university, he nurtured administratively the post of the assistant general secretary of technology and engineering student association (TESA) in the 2009/2010 academic session for the faculty of technology and congruently, vice chairman tedder hall 2010/2011 academic session.

However, he validated dexterity in the arena of oratory by clinching the position of the First runner-up at the Junior Chambers International, University of Ibadan annual debate award 2010/2011. He also shared in the annual Queen’s hall inter-hall oratory competition 2009/2010 as the first speaker. Versatile and resourceful as he is, David has written series of winning speeches for some prodigious orators in the University of Ibadan community and beyond.

David’s super bowl V preliminary speech that got him a domicile in the grand finale was titled: “the African state of mind”. In there, he made it clear that “The future of Africa has no hand so it can’t be asked what does the future hold”. He correspondingly ascertained that “the chains that prevent Africa from liberty are more mental than physical.

He finds elation in capacity building and self-development, sports, adventure, theatrics, music, to mention few. He believes everything can be learnt and perfected. He also believes that to become a leader tomorrow, work starts today.

EZOMO, Olohirere Tomisin

EZOMO Olohirere Tomisin

Enthusiastic, amiable and popularly known as “Cicero”, “Aladewura” or “Quency” to friends. I am a native of Opokhumi village, Owan Area, Edo State (The Heartbeat of the Nation). Born on the 15th of July, I had my primary school education at Omolewa Nursery and Primary School, Ibadan. Then I proceeded to Oritamefa Baptist Model School, Total Garden, Ibadan. Later, I enrolled for the prestigious Cambridge ‘A’ levels examinations in 2006 at the Educational Advancement Center, Bodija, Ibadan before gaining admission into the University of Ibadan to study Medicine and Surgery.

At presently, I am a 600 Level medical student, I have had the opportunity to serve since childhood in various Leadership capacities such as Assistant Head Girl in both primary and secondary school; member of the Literary and Debate Society; Floor Representative (G Block first floor, Queen Elizabeth II Hall, 100-200 Level); Class Senator, 200-400level; member of Congress 200-500 Level; Assistant Deputy Senate Registrar (UIMSA, 300 level); Vice President, University of Ibadan Medical Students Association(UIMSA, 400level); member, Constitutional Review Committee (300 Level, UIMSA). I have also had the opportunity of directing four major stage dramas which involved leading a team of people.

My public speaking escapades started during my Senior School years when I had to represent the school at several debates and quiz competitions. Notable feats with respect to public speaking include 3rd position, UIMSA Oratory Competition (2008), Winner, UIMSA Oratory Competition (2009); Winner, Alexander Brown Hall Oratory Competition (2009); Winner, 3rd Dr Kayode Obembe Oratory Competition (INCANTATO, 2009).

Asides public speaking, I love adventures, driving, acting and playing table tennis. As an ardent sport lover who believes in living a balanced student life, I have represented my halls of residence and association in table tennis and football competitions from 100 Level till date.

I have a passion to help people, burning my candle to light the pathway of others. I am devoted to helping people realise their God given potentials. My strong points include good knowledge and application of Information Technogy (IT), a resilient spirit, multi-tasking, terrific entrepreneurship skills, easy to learn and making the best out of every situation.

My faith is deeply rooted in the word of God, the Bible. This has been a strong motivation for me to give my best to my creator as I have served as an executive in fellowships both within and outside the University of Ibadan from 2

“…the Superbowl trophy is no less
prestigious than an Olympic gold medal. Superbowl is one of the institutions that make UI the very best.”

Olaniyi Ogunyemi is a 400 level student of the Department of Philosophy, Faculty of Arts. The second child in a family of six, Olaniyi was born in Ibadan on 11th of February 1983. I had my elementary education at Emmanuel College Primary School, Agbowo UI. following the creation of new state by Babangida regime in 1991. My father being a civil servant, the family had to relocate to Osogbo,
the new capital of the newly created Osun state. I enrolled at Christ African Primary school from where I proceeded to the prestigious Osogbo grammar school.
As a fresh student in the university, I entered for the UNDP/NOA Essay competition on the topic: “Electoral reforms in Nigeria: challenges and opportunities”. i made the final shortlist and was
invited to Abuja for the award ceremony and dinner. In 2009, i entered for the Wole Soyinka/Dapo Adelugba prize for drama and went on to win the prize as the first (and thus far the only)student to achieve that feat in 100 level. I was also the first student from outside the department of Theatre Arts to win the prize. Being part of SuperBowl is one of the most enriching experiences I have had in life. having watched with keen interest and rapt attention the proceeding of SuperBowl III, I prepared myself SuperBowl IV and reached the semi-finals. For me, the SuperBowl trophy is no less
prestigious than an Olympic gold-medal. SuperBowl is one of the institutions that make UI the very best. Public-speaking requires deep-thinking, logical reasoning, diligence and faith in your own
ideas and capabilities. these are essential ingridients for the intellectual revolution and change of belief-cum-value system of which our country stands in dire need.
I enjoy reading poetry and Drama. I am a budding playwright and I regard myself as one of the most talented men of my generation. Remember, “the dream is not that which you see in the sleep; the dream is that which keeps you from sleeping”.

006 till date. My favorite scripture that keeps me going when the going gets tough is: “who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship, persecution or famine, or danger or sword…No, in all these things, we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us (Romans 8:35-37)”

OLANIYI OGUNYEMI

“…the Superbowl trophy is no less
prestigious than an Olympic gold medal. Superbowl is one of the institutions that make UI the very best.”

OGUNYEMI Olaniyi

Olaniyi Ogunyemi is a 400 level student of the Department of Philosophy, Faculty of Arts. The second child in a family of six, Olaniyi was born in Ibadan on 11th of February 1983. I had my elementary education at Emmanuel College Primary School, Agbowo UI. following the creation of new state by Babangida regime in 1991. My father being a civil servant, the family had to relocate to Osogbo,
the new capital of the newly created Osun state. I enrolled at Christ African Primary school from where I proceeded to the prestigious Osogbo grammar school.
As a fresh student in the university, I entered for the UNDP/NOA Essay competition on the topic: “Electoral reforms in Nigeria: challenges and opportunities”. i made the final shortlist and was
invited to Abuja for the award ceremony and dinner. In 2009, i entered for the Wole Soyinka/Dapo Adelugba prize for drama and went on to win the prize as the first (and thus far the only)student to achieve that feat in 100 level. I was also the first student from outside the department of Theatre Arts to win the prize. Being part of SuperBowl is one of the most enriching experiences I have had in life. having watched with keen interest and rapt attention the proceeding of SuperBowl III, I prepared myself SuperBowl IV and reached the semi-finals. For me, the SuperBowl trophy is no less
prestigious than an Olympic gold-medal. SuperBowl is one of the institutions that make UI the very best. Public-speaking requires deep-thinking, logical reasoning, diligence and faith in your own
ideas and capabilities. these are essential ingridients for the intellectual revolution and change of belief-cum-value system of which our country stands in dire need.
I enjoy reading poetry and Drama. I am a budding playwright and I regard myself as one of the most talented men of my generation. Remember, “the dream is not that which you see in the sleep; the dream is that which keeps you from sleeping”.

ANJOLA BOLUWATIFE

ANJOLA BOLUWATIFE

Anjola Boluwatife Adesoji, the first child amongst of three children was born on the 11th of October some years ago to Mr. and Mrs Anjola. He holds a unique position as the first male child and the only male child in the family.

Anjola Boluwatife Adesoji attended St Martins nursery and primary school, Abeokuta for his primary education after which he proceeded to Abeokuta Grammar School (2002 -2008) for his secondary education. Still in his search for the golden fleece, Anjola Boluwatife Adesoji proceeded to the University of Ibadan in 2009, where he is currently a 300level student in the department of Library, archival and Information Studies (LARIS), faculty of Education.

In 2010, Anjola Boluwatife Adesoji did a beginners course in French in the department of European Studies, University of Ibadan.

He has received the following accolades and has served in the following capacities to mention but a few:

Pressman of the Year (LARIS department) 2010/2011 session

Secretary-general, Capacity building committee, Mellanby Hall

2nd position 2011 Inter-Hall Oratory competition organized by Independence Hall, University of Ibadan.

1st position, 2011 Super-four Inter-hall debate competition organized by Mellanby Hall, University of Ibadan.

Chairman, ICT and Cataloguing Workshop organized by the LARIS students’ association

Public Relations Officer, Adventist Students’ fellowship, University of Ibadan chapter.

Coordinator Literary and Debating Society,  Mellanby Hall.

Certificate of Excellence (first class student award) LARIS students’ association 2010/2011 session.

Anjola Boluwatife Adesoji is a humble gentleman who loves Oratory, his friends, his fellowship, his family and God almighty.

TOGUN ADELEKE

ADELEKE Togun

“What keeps me going as a public speaker; I do it for that rush of adrenaline when I’m called up the stage, that initial feeling of fear I in no time overcome the moment I start to speak but its those moments after my speech, when someone walks up to me and tells me how their life just might never be the same because of what I said, that’s what really keeps me going”

Born and Raised in Ibadan, A lover of God, Togun Adeleke is a 400 Level student of the Department of Computer Science, University of Ibadan albeit a science student, he is great fan of the arts as he describes himself as “inspired by Art, moved by science”.  Photography and Listening to music are really important to him as he says they help him keep his sanity in this Mad World.

His philosophy is to taste every moment and live it out loud. “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”—Mark Twain.

Adeleke Ronke

“…with hard work, we can all achieve.”

ADELEKE Aderonke

Aderonke Babafemi Adeleke was born in Kaduna state on the 10th of June, 1992 to Dr and Mrs Adeleke. ‘Ronke attended Sacred Heart Nursery and Primary School, Kaduna from primary one to primary three and went on to complete her primary school education at Learningfield Nursery and Primary School, Satellite Town, Lagos state.

After primary school, she spent the first year of her secondary education at Learningfield Secondary School before she transferred to Federal Government Girl’s College, Akure where she eventually graduated from.

Her public speaking career began at FGGC Akure when she joined the school’s Literary and Debating society. Although as a member, she was more of a writer of the speeches that were to be presented by the debaters than a speaker, this however served as the beginning of her writing career which consequently led to her decision to study Communication and Language Arts in the University of Ibadan.

While in secondary school, she wrote a play which won third position in a competition organised by an organisation known as “Quality Life Project”, for secondary schools in Ondo state and a number of poems both in class and out of class.

She gained admission into the University of Ibadan in 2009 and has been a member of the Queen Elizabeth II Hall Literary and Debating Society since her first year. Her decision to join this society once again was borne from her love for writing. For her, writing is a passion, but public speaking has always been an avenue for her to air her views.

After spending all of secondary school preparing her writing skills, it was time for her to see how far she could go in public speaking. So, in 2010 and 2011 she participated in Super Bowl III and IV. Although she didn’t make it past the quarter-final stage and semi-final stage respectively, she decided to give it one last try.

According to her, “…they say the third time’s a charm…now, I’m older, wiser and I’ve learnt a lot. The most important thing in all I’ve learnt is hard work; and how it does pay off. And I’m determined to be a living proof that with hard work, we can all achieve”.

SERRANO ELIZABETH

SERRANO Elizabeth Anu

I am Serrano Elizabeth Anu from the Obalufe Royal Family in Ile-Ife, Osun State, Nigeria. I was born to a Nigerian father and an Indian mother. My paternal grandpa is Yoruba whilst my paternal grandma is from Asaba, Delta State. In my father’s linage at some point, a dalliance with Brazil occurred as can be deduced by my Spanish-Nigerian surname—Adeyemi-Serrano. Hence, I am a fusion of two Nigerian tribes, three countries (Nigeria, India and Brazil) and three continents (Africa, Asia and South America). Therefore, I like to think of myself as an intercontinental “cocktail.”

I participate actively in sports and can play almost all games. Currently I play tennis and squash for the University and hockey for Oyo State. I am quite reserved and love to mind my own business and I definitely resent any invasion of my privacy. I am studying Psychology and am in my third year. I represent the prestigious Obafemi Awolowo Hall at Superbowl V. I believe uniting a divided Nigeria is the only way forward.

SuperBowl is Over But the question that lingers in People’s Mind was that, does it worth it to have spent 7 hrs on the programme? Watch out for Exclusive Interview on the Result  of Super Bowl Accross the Halls Of Resident.

Leave a Reply

